22
Nov
09

Week 17

So WTF with all the Vampire craze (again) lately?  I mean really, for the previous … I don’t know … 5 years it’s been all about the swashbuckling Pirates and their Wenches. And now pop-culture seems to have turned back to all-things Vampire.

Okay, so maybe it has to do with the whole Twilight series; with tween-agers and EMO kids alike wallowing in the angst of wanting to be someone they can never be. Now this is when the 80’s Goth chick in me thinks, get a life!!

Don’t get me wrong, I did like reading the Twilight series and I’ve been enjoying the movies (as – ahem – eye candy … ?). But tell me, how does the series fit in with the rest of Vampire lore? With the Anne Rice books? With the Buffy The Vampire Slayer series (not the movie … ugh!)? With Blade?

And so it’s with such ponderings and discussions   after watching New Moon yesterday, I’ve decided to issue a challenge on Vampire Slayers.

“There are worse things out tonight than vampires. Like me.”
— Blade

So along with my discussion of all things Vampire with tydesignlabs, the topic naturally led to some of our other favorite Vampire-related characters. Which of course led to the discussion of whether or not they would be considered “Superheroes.”

Blade, of course, was considered a “Superhero.” At least by tydesignlabs‘ standards. And I agreed with him. I mean, he was after all, created in the Marvel World.

But Buffy … well, that’s where we differ. tydesignlabs claims that she is “technically” not a Superhero. Whereas, I do.

“Can a vampire ever be a good person? Couldn’t it happen?” — Buffy

And since I’m the Commish, I get to talk about why I think Buffy could be considered for a commissioned drawing under Superhero Throwdown standards. First of all, Buffy is considered “The Chosen One;” a slayer for every generation to defeat vampires and demons.  And because of that she has been gifted with extraordinary strength and skills that no “normal” human has.

By definition, isn’t that what a superhero is? A person with extraordinary skills dedicated to protecting humans from evil?

Y’all can choose to debate the issue further (feel free to comment below about your thoughts on the matter) … but I’m the Commish, so I get to say what the next challenge is.

And that challenge is to draw either Blade or Buffy. Or heck, if you want to … you could draw both. In one scene. (Yeah … I like the sound of that. But either scenario would do.)

Because right now, I think I’m totally on Vampire-overdose … and could stand to see a Vampire Hunter and/or Slayer in action!

Thanks to my BIL for finding this image. I laughed. So. Hard!

4 Responses to “Week 17”


  1. November 22, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    SWEET CHALLENGE! I’m really looking forward to doing something vampire-related! Maybe I’ll throw something together with Vampirella facing off against Buffy. Girl fight!

  2. 3 Jay
    November 23, 2009 at 1:05 am

    omph…. now this one’s a hard one. How do you draw Buffy and make her look like Buffy. I haven’t drawn “real” people in ages.


Leave a Reply

